cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Life After Bushfires

IamNOTalone
Contributor

Hi... first post... struggling ..

hi all. I’m not sure what this will do for me, but I needed to tell someone. This is my first time using these groups, I found this advertised on FB. I lost my home in bushfires on NYE. I nearly lost my life defending someone else’s home. I thought I was dying. I have struggled every day since. I can admit my anger is out of control towards my beautiful wife who try’s her hardest for me. I don’t have anything that was once mine anymore all my life history gone. My family has turned against me over grant money they weren’t eligible for but I was. My life has been falling apart all year, but I have so much trauma from that night. I’ve lost everything but my wife and children. Which I nearly lost. Some days I can’t even eat. I know I need help but being the man of the family I can’t exacly take the time off work to get the help. 

I’m sick of the men don’t cry attitudes. 

I cry all the time. 

I take long showers to cry so no one can see. 

I stay in my car for 10 minutes after work to clear myself up before coming home. 

This is never ending for me

21 REPLIES 21

Re: Hi... first post... struggling ..

Hi @IamNOTalone  welcome to the bushfire forums! 

First off, thank you for taking your time to share with us. It must be hard. 

I’m so sorry with your experience with coming so close to losing your life. 

Your wife and children still have you and you still have them. I experienced similar on the same NYE. 

I wouldn’t wish this on anybody. 

Its ok to cry. It helps it really does. Bottleling up emotions doesn’t get us anywhere. It sounds like you really need a break too. I hope you can get some time off over this new year. 

Thank you for admitting your anger issues. 

The first step to changing, is acknowledging. 

Are you able to seek help with your anger issues, or have you found any thing that helps them?